How to melt chocolate in a microwave

melting chocolate in a microwave

melting chocolate in a microwave oven

Melting chocolate in a microwave is very easy but you do have to be careful. I often hear csutomers report that the oven started sparking when they tried to melt chocolate in it. This is because the microwave oven needs moisture to absorb the microwaves. You probably already know that if you run the oven empty then it will spark, because there is nothing to absorb the microwaves. Well, if you think of the chocolate, until it starts to melt, it is solid, there is nothing initially to absorb the microwaves. Quite quickly the chocolate will warm and soften and then there is moisture and the chocolate melts quickly. To avoid this I always recommend that customers put a seperate small container of water in the microwave with the chocolate. Until the chocolate softens the microwaves will be absorbed by the water.

About microwaveexpert

The Microwave Service Company is based in Sellindge, Kent and provides repairs to Domestic and Commercial Microwave Ovens including 24 volt Samsung Roadmate microwaves.
This entry was posted in Microwave tips and hints and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How to melt chocolate in a microwave

  1. RS says:

    Finally! a real answer to why my colleague and I have experienced the same phenomenon in our own kitchens! Thank you so much!

  2. destiny says:

    Thank you for the info. I was so dumbfounded by this. Just happened the other day and I couldnt find a real answer until I found this 🙂 Thanks!

  3. janevir says:

    Amazing! Thank you for the information. I hadn’t had this happen before today, and my friend pointed me to you explanation and solution.

  4. THANK YOU!!! The interwebs has all of the answers! haha

  5. Ellie says:

    I was suprised when the microwave sparked when when I tried melting chocolate so I tried it once more and it shocked again so I found this website and put a cup of water with the bowl of chocolate and tried it. It worked for a few seconds but then it shocked again .. Maybe I’ll just eat the chocolate by itself

  6. Rosa says:

    Omg! Thank you so much this was exactly what I needed.

  7. Maryam manzuma says:

    You can’t melt chocolate microwave everyone knows that and you know it will splash spoil microwave you didn’t even tell how to be careful what timet

    • You can. But you should place a cup of water in the microwave at the same time so that the water can absorb the microwaves in the time before the chocolate actually starts to melt.

Leave a comment